1 (edited by Nemix 2014-04-26 05:18:29)

Topic: How to add new character models? [Blender]

I'm new to Unity, still have to learn the basics, but I managed to get the game going with the helpful documentation.
I also have a bit of Blender Experience like modeling and rigging, I saw that the Demo Character is a .fbx model, that's Autodesks format, normally Blender should be able to open it, I thought I would then see the Model with the Skeleton and that it's rigged but Blender couldn't import the .fbx model and I got the following error:

ASCII FBX Files are not supported , I have even updated to the latest FBX Import Plugin for Blender

If anyone could help me add my own model ingame, that would be great.
Thank you in advance.

Thumbs up Thumbs down

Re: How to add new character models? [Blender]

Hi Nemix,

I'm new to Unity myself, though it kind of controls like Maya so I didn't have much of a problem getting to grips with it. For my characters I tried various methods of exporting them from Maya as FBXs (baking the animations first etc) nothing seems to work right so I tried just copying my Maya .ma (MAYA ASCII) file into Unity and it works perfectly for me, I'm not longer losing body parts or any other errors.

I haven't tried Blender with this method but if Unity can recognise your constraints and such from .ma files I'm sure blender files shouldn't be a problem. Just make sure you bake all the animations to the skeleton and remove everything from the "character world"(and delete it) or whatever you named it but still have them grouped as they were. The reason for this is I found that Unity only searches one group down for components so if you have the characters group in the character world (treated as a group) your constraints wouldn't be recognized (or so i think, i might be very wrong here but it gave me problems til I deleted the world). Strangely enough it still recognized the geometry inside the group.