Topic: Draw and holster a weapon

I have a character who has a gun an I want to kno how to she holster and draw her weapon

Thumbs up Thumbs down

2 (edited by christougher 2016-01-14 14:08:26)

Re: Draw and holster a weapon

Will this weapon change hands when she faces different directions?

I have duplicate weapons on my characters (one in the sheath, one in each hand).  Using mecanim I modified my animations to de/activate them at the appropriate times. So the weapon in the holster is never actually moved, just for show. I use a simple playmaker FSM to change which one is active based on direction faced.   Since I switched hands I also had to modify which hit boxes switch when facing different directions. (I have UFE source).

Thumbs up Thumbs down

Can u make a tutorial

Thumbs up Thumbs down

4 (edited by christougher 2016-05-30 01:30:53)

Dunno about a full on tutorial, there are multiple issues here and I've been dabbling in Unity for about 10 months now myself, but how about answering some questions and I'll see if I can help out.  What do you have issues with?  I'm sure there are better ways of doing this but it works for me and gets the job done...

Do you have UFE source or Bundle? My approach required one small change HitBoxesScript.cs which allows me to swap custom hitboxes just as if they were right/left hand...  But be warned this will affect all characters custom hit boxes and (in my case) custom hitboxes 2 and 3 will work when facing right and 4 and 5 will work when facing left...  (my right handed sword has custom hitboxes 2+3 and left has 4+5).

added under     public void InvertHitBoxes

(hitBox.bodyPart == BodyPart.custom4 && hitBox2.bodyPart == BodyPart.custom2) ||
                    (hitBox.bodyPart == BodyPart.custom5 && hitBox2.bodyPart == BodyPart.custom3) ||